I Just Had a Transcendent Experience

Just now.  Walking along, in an ordinary place in an ordinary time on an ordinary day. Which is usually when they happen, at least to me.

Suddenly, I felt myself open very wide on the inside. The phrase, “benevolent channel for love” popped into my head. That’s what I felt like. A channel for love that initially didn’t come from me, but through me, flowing outward toward every living human. Love for all humanity.

Then I felt it coming from me as well. For a moment, I felt a numinous connection to and love for every human being on the planet.

Those who know me, know this is not my typical stance.

What does it mean? I believe it means that there is something out there. That we are not alone in the universe, but that something else exists that transcends mundane reality and existence.

I have my own ideas as to what that something is. I am also willing to allow for the possibility that it’s a mere synaptic misfire.  The bottom line is, really, who cares?

If it makes you happy and gives you comfort, what harm is there in believing in a Great Benign Whatsit and accepting and allowing transcendent experiences? I know that, for me, the experience left me happier, comforted and elevated. I’m down with that.

One thought on “I Just Had a Transcendent Experience

  1. Rodger says:

    Benignly honest. Similar experience described in poem titled Adak:

    In the Bering Sea
    on an aleutian Island,
    I stepped aay from the others.
    A valcano siraled smoke
    in cold, forbidding, solitude.
    Ambling the lonely beach,
    I felt a kinship–communion.

    Dresming of quiyaqs and Aliuts,
    my soul rejoiced in a strane warth.
    Cynacism washed away.
    I sought and expected a ign.

    A smal, clear, stream
    sparkled across gray sand
    into milk-white surf,
    revealing a treasure:

    An iridescent half shell;
    sea weed for stem. shaped a pearl iris–

Leave a Reply

